Congressional Republicans on Medicare Should Opt-out of Hypocritical Public Option Choice

Don't you think so?

Weiner Calls on GOP Opponents of the Public Option to Give Up Their Medicare

NEWS: New Weiner Study Shows 151 Members of House and Senate Get the “Public Option” Now

WASHINGTON, DC—A new study by Representative Anthony Weiner (D – Queens & Brooklyn), member of the Health Subcommittee and Co-Chair of the Caucus on the Middle Class, revealed that 151 members of the House and Senate currently receive government-funded; government-administered single-payer health care - Medicare.

On the list of recipients are 55 Republicans who have steadfastly opposed other Americans getting the public option, like the one they have chosen.

Weiner said, “Even in a town known for hypocrisy, this list of 55 Members of Congress deserve some sort of prize. They apparently think the public option is ok for them, but not anyone else.”

The list of congressional recipients of Medicare who also oppose the public option is below.


Rep. Ralph M. Hall
Rep. Roscoe G. Bartlett 
Rep. Sam Johnson 
Rep. C.W. Bill Young 
Rep. Howard Coble 
Sen. Jim Bunning 
Sen. Richard G. Lugar 
Rep. Don Young 
Sen. Charles E. Grassley 
Sen. Robert F. Bennett 
Rep. Vernon J. Ehlers 
Sen. Orrin G. Hatch 
Sen. Richard C. Shelby 
Rep. Jerry Lewis 
Sen. James M. Inhofe 
Rep. Ron Paul 
Rep. Henry E. Brown 
Sen. Pat Roberts 
Sen. George V. Voinovich 
Sen. John McCain 
Rep. Judy Biggert 
Sen. Thad Cochran 
Rep. Harold Rogers 
Rep. Dan Burton 
Rep. Howard P. "Buck" McKeon
Rep. Frank R. Wolf 
Sen. Christopher S. Bond 
Rep. Michael N. Castle 
Rep. Joe Pitts 
Rep. Tom Petri 
Sen. Lamar Alexander 
Rep. Doc Hastings 
Rep. Cliff Stearns 
Rep. Sue Myrick 
Rep. John Carter 
Sen. Mitch McConnell 
Sen. Jon Kyl 
Rep. Phil Gingrey 
Rep. Nathan Deal 
Rep. John Linder 
Rep. Kay Granger 
Rep. John L. Mica 
Rep. Walter B. Jones 
Sen. Jim Risch 
Rep. Ed Whitfield 
Rep. F. James Sensenbrenner 
Rep. Virginia Foxx 
Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison 
Rep. Ginny Brown-Waite 
Sen. Saxby Chambliss 
Sen. Michael B. Enzi 
Rep. Elton Gallegly 
Rep. Donald Manzullo 
Rep. Peter T. King 
Rep. Ander Crenshaw



No votes yet